Simply cannot be

November 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

I love you, but this simply cannot be

What melancholy, yes, and what delight

For finally – I’d clung to fearlessly

The thought you were the One for me that’s right

I realize the truth that there are things

one wants, but cannot have them; so I’ll miss

the chance. Perhaps my next life I’ll learn things

that help me steer clear of love’s cold abyss
 

The next life, that’s the one where I’ll excel

Look at me now! The last life was a bore

The next life does me from Beyond impel

Just like when I escaped from Purgatore

From here this elevator’s going up

I won’t be drinking from an empty cup.

© 11/19/2012, Joshua Owens

Tagged: , , , ,

Speak your mind

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simply cannot be at neosonnetry.

meta

