Sonnet: 12/03/2012 (Dear me! I have forgotten where I am)

December 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Dear me! I have forgotten where I am
Could you tell me the time, my good toucan?
I hear a plane – it’s gliding through the air
I feel no pain, am encumbered by no care
 
(What would I do if you were standing there
Dressed in that skirt that leaves your shoulders bare?
You’d wave your arm, so free and gracefully
Like Agnes in that book Immortality
You’d leave it for a moment hanging there
And let the moonlight shimmer in your hair
You’d blink and you would smile that smile I love
Then float to me upon the air, a dove..)
 
Another car drives by. My reverie
is broken – but it’s not the same with me.
 
 
 
© Joshua Owens

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sonnet: 12/03/2012 (Dear me! I have forgotten where I am) at neosonnetry.

meta

