Sonnet: 12/05/2012 (All day I’ve had my hair in a ponytail)

December 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

Joshua Owens, 12/08/2012

Joshua Owens, 12/08/2012


 
 

All day I’ve had my hair in a ponytail
A sumo wrestler’s what I look like. Jail
Awaits all those who talk bad ‘bout my game –
Like messin’ with my mom but not quite the same;
And on my torso is a Carhartt coat
It’s red and tightens up around the throat
Down on my feet, some beat up running shoes
My body’s clad in jeans and shirt of blues
My socks, they prob’ly have a couple holes
And you might find ‘em also in my soles
The near-skin layer I’ll not mention here
(Just call it my own simple, cautious fear)

Beneath, the bottom layer that you’ll see:
A hundred sixty-seven pounds of me.

 
 

Joshua Owens, 12/08/2012

Joshua Owens, 12/08/2012


 
 

Want to give feedback? Post a comment below!

 
© Joshua Owens

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Speak your mind

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sonnet: 12/05/2012 (All day I’ve had my hair in a ponytail) at neosonnetry.

meta

